Cornfield

Feeding Illinois

Do you have excess produce that is edible and nutritious but unmarketable, too small, slightly blemished or a cancelled order?

Donate Your Product to Help Feed Hungry People in Your Community – In this difficult economy, more and more people are struggling to put food on the table. There are hungry people in every community in this state – 1 in 7 people in Illinois don’t have access to adequate, nutritious food. Our network of food banks can help you get your donations to families in need.

Food donations are tax deductible and not just for C corporations. Under the Food Provision in the Pension Act of 2006 (P.L. 109-280, Section 1202) tax benefits were extended to small businesses, farmers and ranchers.

There’s no risk. All donors are protected from liability under the Bill Emerson Good Samaritan Food Donor Act of 1996 and the Illinois Good Samaritan Act.

We will pick up the produce – Within 24 hours of your call, arrangements will be made for pick-up. When you call, your food bank will need to know:

• Product type or types, if mixed load• Quantity (1 pallet minimum), location and how the product is packed

• Approximate amount of waste, as a %, that can be expected

Contact the food bank in your community:

Central Illinois Foodbank, Kristy Gilmore, 2000 E Moffat, Springfield, IL 62791, (217) 522-4022 , kgilmore@centralilfoodbank.org. Counties Served: Adams, Bond, Brown, Cass, Christian, Effingham, Fayette, Greene, Jefferson, Logan, Macon, Macoupin, Marion, Menard, Montgomery, Morgan, Pike, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby

Eastern Illinois Foodbank, Matt Pieper, 2405 North Shore Drive, Urbana, IL 61802,(217) 328-3663,mpieper@eifoodbank.org . Counties Served: Champaign, Clark, Clay, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, Douglas, Edgar, Ford, Iroquois, Jasper, Moultrie, Piatt, Vermilion

Greater Chicago Food Depository, Gerry Maguire, 4100 W Anne Lurie Place, Chicago, IL 60632, (773) 843-2607, gmaguire@gcfd.org. Counties Served: Cook

Northern Illinois Food Bank, Gary Knuth, 273 Dearborn Ct, Geneva, IL 601341, (630) 443-6910 x140, gknuth@northernilfoodbank.org. Counties Served: Boone, Dekalb, DuPage, Grundy, Kane, Kankakee, Kendall, Lake, McHenry, Ogle, Stephenson, Will, Winnebago

Peoria Area Food Bank, Jeanette Wennmacher, 721 W McBean, Peoria, IL 61605, (309) 671-3906, foodbank@pcceo.org. Counties Served: DeWitt, Fulton, Livingston, Mason, McLean, Peoria, Tazewell, Woodward

River Bend Foodbank, Tom Laughlin, 309 12th St, Moline, IL 61265, (309) 764-7434, tlaughlin@feedingamerica.org. Counties Served: Bureau, Carroll, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Jo Davies, Knox, LaSalle, Lee, Marshall, McDonough, Mercer, Putnam, Rock Island, Stark, Warren, Whiteside

St. Louis Area Foodbank, Shannon O’Connor, 70 Corporate Woods Drive, Bridgeton, MO 63044, (314) 227-3738, soconnor@stlfoodbank.org. Counties Served: Calhoun, Clinton, Franklin, Jackson, Jersey, Madison, Monroe, Perry, Randolph, St. Clair, Washington, Williamson

Tri-State Foodbank, Tamela Dane, 801 East Michigan Street, Evansville, IN 47711-5631, (812) 425-0775, admin@tristatefoodbank.org. Counties Served: Alexander, Edwards, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Johnson, Lawrence, Massac, Pope, Pulaski, Richland, Saline, Union, Wabash, Wayne, White

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments are closed.